Blurb Treatise Provides a Comprehensive History of Seven Sisters Schools

Seven Sisters College

Seven Sisters, whose name is taken from Roman folklore, are the daughters of Titan and Pleione, all of whom are seven daughters. They sought out women faculty and administrators so that women would govern the Seven Sisters, as well as provide a high-quality education to women.

The Seven Sisters Colleges are a group of seven liberal arts colleges in the Northeastern United States that are historically women’s colleges. The seven colleges are Barnard College, Bryn Mawr College, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College, Vassar College, Wellesley College, and Radcliffe College (which merged with Harvard College in 1999). These colleges were created to provide women with the educational equivalent of historically all-male colleges, although Cornell has accepted women since its founding.

Of these seven colleges, Barnard College, Bryn Mawr College, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College, and Wellesley College are still women’s colleges. Vassar College is currently a coeducational institution.

Mount Holyoke College and Smith College are part of the Five College Consortium along with Amherst College, Hampshire College, and University of Massachusetts Amherst. Wellesley College has cross-registration and dual-degree programs with Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), Olin College of Engineering, and cross-registration with Brandeis University and Babson College. Wellesley also has an exchange program with Spelman College.

Radcliffe College shared a common and overlapping history with Harvard College from the time it was founded as “the Harvard Annex” in 1879. Harvard and Radcliffe integrated genders in 1977 but Radcliffe continued to be the sponsoring college for women at Harvard until the entities officially merged in 1999.

An institution (Wellesley) has never had a male president, which maintains these ideals to this day. These liberal arts colleges are known for their seven departments and are highly recommended. History has established that the Northeastern United States is a women’s institute. However, its partner colleges (Radcliffe and Vassar) govern coeducation. Currently, the remaining five (Barnard College, Bryn Mawr College, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College, and Wellesley College) only admit women to their colleges.

Seven Sisters Colleges
Image from here








Which Colleges Comprise Mount Holyoke Liberal Arts colleges, & When did it establish?

Two are in New York, four are in Massachusetts, and one is in Pennsylvania. As part of this effort to empower women, it was organized with a pedagogical approach similar to male-only Ivy League colleges, so several are affiliated with them or merged with them. Hence, Radcliffe College and Harvard College share a similar and overlapping history from the period when Harvard was founded as “the Harvard Annex” in 1879.

When did These Colleges merge?

The Harvard and Radcliffe colleges merged in 1977, but Radcliffe continued to sponsor women at Harvard until the merger was terminated in 1999. As an ex-affiliate of Yale University, Vassar College at one time suggested a coalition; however, Vassar became co-educational in 1969 and remains independent today. Finally, Barnard College was Columbia University’s liberal arts undergraduate institute until it formalized an all-male harmonization academy. In 1983, Columbia became co-educational; Barnard College is still a women’s undergraduate association affiliated with (but legally separate from) Columbia, and learners receive a certificate signed by the leaders of both organizations.
Bryn Mawr College is part of the Tri-College Consortium (Haverford College and Swarthmore College). Moreover, the school is affiliated with the convenient University of Pennsylvania, and the Tri-College Consortium schools are also members of the Quaker Consortium, allowing Bryn Mawr students to take classes at Haverford and Swarthmore, and vice versa. The consolidation of Bryn Mawr College and Haverford College was deemed as equal to one point.

Which one is the youngest college among them?

Of the Seven Sisters Colleges, Vassar College is the youngest. It was founded in 1861 in Poughkeepsie, New York, as Vassar Female College. It became co-educational in 1969.

What is the oldest Seven Sisters college?

Mount Holyoke the branch of the Seven colleges

Mount Holyoke College is the oldest of the Seven Sisters Colleges. It was founded in 1837 by Mary Lyon in South Hadley, Massachusetts, as a female seminary. It became Mount Holyoke College in 1893.

Bryn Mawr, a demanding women’s college with 1,380 undergraduates, is renowned for its academic superiority, diverse and close-knit population, and marriage with the world.

What is the acceptance rate for Seven Sisters Colleges?

The acceptance rates for the Seven Sisters Colleges vary by institution and year. According to a 2020 article by The Koppelman Group, the acceptance rate for one of the Seven Sisters Colleges is approximately 51%. However, it’s worth noting that acceptance rates can vary from year to year and may be different for different groups of applicants.

Fozia Siraj

My name is Fozia Siraj, and I want to use this website to share my knowledge and spread it to as many readers as I can. We are committed to giving you high-quality unique kids stories with compelling write-ups. Please don’t hesitate to get in touch with me if you have any inquiries or suggestions. I am a writer. My stories are published in various magazines. I try to write on every topic. But children's stories are loved by kids & adults too. So I want to jot-down more in my online property that is Articlesland. Sincerely, Fozia Siraj

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button